Share

Say Goodbye to Abandoned Business Units in Microsoft Dynamics CRM 2011

If you have been using Microsoft Dynamics CRM 3.0 or 4.0 for several years, there is a good chance that you might have some Business Units that have been abandoned.  As you may know, Business Units are used in Microsoft Dynamics CRM to group users for security purposes, and they typically mirror the hierarchy of your organizational chart.  Users are parented by Business Units, and Business Units segment data access.

Up to now, if your Business Unit structure reorganized, there was no way to delete a Business Unit.  You could move child business units, users, and teams, and then deactivate the Business Unit.  That effectively got rid of it, but it would still show up in certain views, and made reorganization of Business Unit hierarchy somewhat cumbersome.

Microsoft Dynamics CRM 2011 now allows deletion of Business Units.  Before deleting a Business Unit, you must first relocate child Business Units, teams, and users.

image

Business Unit deletion confirmation dialog box in CRM 2011

This should be a valuable enhancement for deployments where the organizational structure has changed, or for deployments where the initial business unit hierarchy was not properly designed.